Today is the first day back after another long weekend. Don’t get my wrong, I’m not complaining about having an extra day off. What throws me off is that it’s Tuesday and it CLEARLY felt like a Monday this morning when I got up. Perhaps we need to re-think the saying “She’s got a case of the Mondays.” I’ve got a case of the “First day of the week!”

Have you ever woken up (on any day of the week) and had a grouchy or grumpy feeling – seemingly for no reason? I woke up this morning feeling terribly grouchy, and nothing had gone wrong. I hadn’t missed an appointment or disappointed anyone. I hadn’t slept in and made myself late for work. I don’t remember any weird or disturbing dreams… So why did I wake up in such a funk? I carried this feeling with me to work, trying to shake it all morning. I seem to have made some progress, but still find my brow furrowing for no apparent reason.

Clearly there is something niggling me. I mean, I always have stuff on a list of things to do – but what am I missing? Is my mind trying to help me remember something that I have forgotten? Or have I simply woken up on the wrong side of the bed?

Looks like I have some mental and emotional house cleaning to do. Maybe I just need a good laugh to snap me out of it. I suppose it doesn’t help that I didn’t have a great night’s sleep, and am feeling exhausted this morning… not to mention the remnants of a wicked cold that seem to be hanging around far too long.

Do you normally wake up grouchy? or happy?

