Have you ever experienced an overwhelming tidal wave of happiness, of love, of laughter – some feeling that is fantastic? One day you might be sitting at home or in your car having a mediocre day and something – a song, a smell, a memory – washes over you causing you to feel overwhelming fantastic stuff… This also works with bad stuff too, but this is about the good stuff.

I was thinking of this “tidal wave” of super cool fantasticness that washes over you – like an ebb and flow – it washes in and over you, pushing you over into a smile, a laugh, or a chest that is bursting with love… but that tidal wave inevitably flows out again and you go back to feeling mediocre. Or worse, you get caught in a rip tide and get pulled under into the negative effect of the tidal wave! It’s terrible when the happiness ebbs and you feel worse than you did before the fantasticness because now it is gone…

Lately I’ve been digging a trench on my proverbial beach. Each day I work hard to make it deeper and deeper. When a wave comes in – it washes over the beach in my mind. I feel the rush of happiness or love or emit a belly laugh that resonates throughout me, filling me up. As the wave flows back out of the beach, I’m left with a little pond of residual happiness in my trench that I can dip into and be refreshed whenever I want. Every day I work harder and harder at digging this trench deeper and deeper – and it’s not easy work keeping my happy trench nice and deep! Every time a tidal wave comes in, it takes some of my trench out to sea with it… but if I keep it deep enough – if I keep working daily at my happiness trench – then I’ll always have a little pond and prevent the tidal wave from coming in and washing my pond away completely 🙂 That’s how my beach used to be – no pond, the waves always taking back what they had given to me and eroding my beach away. And sometimes the waves were few and far between.

What I mean by this is that life, happiness, love… everything takes hard work every day. It’s easy to let things slide – to get so busy that we don’t take care of ourselves. It’s easy to get complacent, and think that we are ok without any work. We forget about making a conscious effort to maintain ourselves every day. How do I keep my trench dug every day? Lately, I’ve been practicing meditation daily. Not only that but I try to do a drawing once a day, and take some photos (for my blog!). These daily practices help keep my trench dug deep enough to catch and keep a little private pond of happiness, no matter how big the wave or the ensuing rip tide…

Many people don’t feel like they have time for a simple daily practice that keeps your proverbial beach in check. It’s hard work! But 15 or 20 minutes of self time a day can go a long way; Roller blading, meditating, being creative, and amongst it all – making sure that you are OK and constantly cleaning house within yourself 🙂 At the end of the day – all you have is you, so take care of yourself!

I love the waves that come in and wash over me, and the feelings that come along with them. But it’s an amazing asset to have that little pond every day, no matter what.

