This year’s new years celebration is going to be vastly different from any other I’ve experienced. I’ve applied for, and been accepted to, a 10-day Vipassana silent meditation course. Over the ten days, I and the others attending will be learning and meditating in complete silence. It’s going to be a tough ten days, but I’m really looking forward to it. It starts on the 29th of December and I come home on the morning of January 9th – so new years this year is going to be very quiet.

The cool thing about this course is that it’s so intensive over the ten days. All I will be doing is meditating and learning. I can’t bring my iPod, a book, a sketchbook, or any other form of ‘entertainment’ with me. When we are in silence, it is meant to be silence of the mind and body – so we don’t even nod hello or gesture to other participants. A good friend of mine who has done these courses before told me “You’ll get to know people by their socks.”

It’s going to be a difficult journey, and I’ll be off the map socially and technologically for over ten days, but I think the outcome is going to be worth it.

What do I hope to get out of this course? I’m looking to learn and practice more patience in every day life, to exercise more compassion and understanding of others, and most of all – to learn how easy it can be to just be happy 🙂 I have no doubt I’m going to get all this – and more – from this course. After the initial period of mental insanity that will inevitably join me during my silence, I think I will have gained a lot of insight about myself.

So, blog-fans, this means I won’t be publishing from December 29th to January 9th. But when I return, I promise to report on my experience.

