Did you ever have an a-ha moment that you thought that if you shared it with your friends they’d laugh at you? Well, I have those a-ha moments a LOT, and I almost always end up telling someone. At least someone gets a chuckle out of my special-ness 😉

With common phrases or terms, I often accept them as they are without thinking through their meaning or origin. I just assume that’s a phrase or name someone made up for something and it stuck. Let me give you an example to help clarify the situation.

I had an a-ha moment this morning about something that is probably common-sense to 99% of the population.  I was listening to the radio on the way to work, and in a commercial one of the male voices said something about being in his birthday suit. For some reason – today of all days – my brain clicked into gear and focused in on that phrase. To most people, it’s common sense. But here’s the process my brain went through:

Why is it called Birthday Suit? Ahh.. because it’s the “suit” that you are wearing on the day of your birth! Huh, I never thought about it that way! THAT’S why they call it a Birthday Suit!

It’s ok, I’ll wait for you to stop laughing.

Image: Couirtesy of FOX

Done? Cool 🙂 Yes, I have these moments from time to time. I’m 32 and JUST realized the meaning behind the phrase “birthday suit.” All this time I had just thought it was a funny joke about naked people on their birthday.

I guess this just reinforces the fact that we are constantly learning. At least I am. I’m constantly realizing things about life, the universe, and everything in ways that I hadn’t thought of before. My brain is forever picking apart the meanings of things (at its own pace, clearly…)

Have you had any similar a-ha moments? SHARE!

