Yesterday in the shower, I was wondering again about random things… It would be a pain in the butt if you lost an arm at the shoulder, but still had to put deodorant on that armpit. Although, you wouldn’t have to raise your arm to apply it. So I suppose it kind of balances out. OK, not really. Losing an arm would really suck. In the shower, I was thinking about how simple things in life would drastically change if you lost a limb.

I googled for a while, and could not find any statistics on how many people in the world are amputees. My guess is probably a lot. Imagine if you were a double-arm amputee and had to train yourself to put on deodorant with your feet…

I did, however, find this really cool post: Hot Summer – trimming the hedge from the Technical below the elbow amputee issues Blog. I read a few posts and found them highly educational. There are a lot of things I never would have thought of, and it’s interesting to understand things from this guy’s point of view. Check out this awesome video of Cutting meat using prosthetic body powered arm with hook or hand. Neat! Also – check out the post on Asking armless people for fingerprints. There’s so much awesome stuff to read here!

I also found a series of other links to other very awesome blogs:

I suppose today’s shower thought was about putting the shoe on the other foot, as it were…  Thank you shower thought!

