As I was rollerblading this morning with my dog, I took time out to enjoy the warm morning weather and the nature that surrounds me all the time. The grass is growing again, the weeds are popping up like crazy, the birds are singing, and the smells and sights of the environment are changing.

Along with this bliss came some concern. The seasons are not what they used to be. I seem to remember there being a Spring and a Fall in there somewhere. Our seasons are vastly different from what I remember growing up. It seems that now Spring is a psychotic battle between freezing cold and blistering hot weather, peppered with angry storms and unpredictable weather. I definitely remember spring showers and storms – but I don’t remember having to wear so many layers to compensate for the hourly change in temperature. Maybe I just didn’t notice it until now – but I definitely think the weather is behaving oddly.

This makes me wonder about the poor plants! Obviously this has been a somewhat gradual change – temperature fluctuations, flash rain storms that flood neighbourhoods… but it still seems a little drastic. Perhaps the plants have been evolving over time to adapt to these weather changes – but that’s also got to affect all kinds of things, like bugs, birds, and animals. I’m sure they are all finding ways to adapt as well. But what does this actually mean? Is this adaptation a part of the natural course of things? Or should we actually be concerned?

For the past 20 or 30 years, we’ve been noticing these changes and fighting about whether global warming is actually real, and studying the effects of the changes in our environment and the weather. I definitely think the Earth is upset with us. Potentially, it will kick us off at some point and try to get back to *normal* But what I really think is that eventually the Earth will die (as a natural part of it’s life course) and that millions of years down the road, Earth and its inhabitants will become extinct… that is, unless we get into star trek mode and find some other inhabitable planets (highly likely at some point).

Yes, all of this was running through my head this morning on my rollerblade. It’s funny how the leaves of dandelions growing slightly higher than the freshly cut grass can give you some pause for thought…

At least it’s nice to be able to enjoy the things around me in my environment – including the thunder storms and dandelions 🙂 It’s nice to be here!

