I did it! Last week, I secured a tripod for my picture-taking machine and I felt motivated to try out the HDR technique. Quickly: HDR is High Dynamic Range. Basically, you take multiple photos at different exposures (lighter and darker), and then merge them in photo editing software to obtain a larger range of detail in one photo! Here is a cool example of how much more detail you can get in a photo using the HDR technique.

This is my first stab at taking and editing some HDR photos. They are slightly sucky, because they were taken on a very overcast day, but it’s kinda neat, nonetheless!

Original
HDR – check out the super crisp lines and vibrancy of the light!
Original
HDR – so much more detail in the clouds and the grass!
Original
HDR – beautiful and bright!
Original
HDR – maybe a little over saturated, but i like the overall feel. There’s some graffiti up top that you can’t see in the original!

Obviously I have to play with the settings (there are so many!) to get different effects. It’s definitely interesting to see how much more detail, light, darkness, and colour vibrance is available to cram into one photo!

