It seems as if no matter where you go, who you’re with, or what life is like there are ups and downs. I’m finding that the more positive and open my mind-state is, the less drastic these ups and downs seem to be. But I’m a ‘wear my heart on my sleeve’ kinda girl. I’ve never really been able to minimize the fallout of emotions when I’m upset. I’m only able to minimize how long the fallout lasts… which is better than nothing. When emotional fallout happens, I’ve long been in the practice of reminding myself of all the amazing things in my life, and how sometimes things change. Most of the time, these thoughts are helpful in quelling the tsunami of emotions. Sometimes it doesn’t exactly do the trick.

Then on days like yesterday, when I’m feeling pretty up, it’s altogether impossible to reign myself in. I was on a walk with my lady and the dogs, and the weather was absolutely perfect. The sun was out and hot. The wind was blowing at a medium-low clip through my hair. I could smell fresh-cut grass. I was having an amazing walk. And it’s in moments like these that I get an overwhelming feeling of just how awesome it is to be alive. I can’t even describe it. I guess it’s kind of like peace mixed with happiness.

But back to those roller coaster lows – reminding myself that ‘this will pass’ and ‘everything will work out just fine’ and the like are helpful. And yes, I do realize the value in these moments – without sadness, stress, unhappiness, and anger we wouldn’t fully be able to understand how wonderful peace, happiness, love, and triumph feel (bla bla bla). But wouldn’t it be nice just to have fantastic days? Wouldn’t it be nice to just ALWAYS appreciate what we have, and how lovely our lunch tastes, and how delicious the sun feels on our skin without having terrible moments so we can more accurately compare? I think we’d appreciate the happy, peacefulness of our amazing lives just fine without the crappy, sad, angry times.

But this is life. These ups and downs are constant. I pride myself in being an optimist. People always tell me that they love how I always look on the bright side of life. I assure you, it’s not always so… but I always pick myself up, dust myself off, and keep moving.

What do you do to boost yourself when the sun isn’t shining brightly in your world?

